Occupational Therapy

Hello readers! I’m so glad you came to read about Isaiah’s week, thank you!

On Thursday, Isaiah had music therapy and he had a difficult time being involved in the song and paying attention. We decided to put MT on hold indefinitely. Isaiah did have a difficult time paying attention and attending to specific tasks in school on Thursday and Friday as well. šŸ˜¦ His constant need for proprioceptive input is really getting in the way of schoolĀ and therapy.Ā I was pretty bummed when Friday night came around but I still went to a women’s bi-monthly fellowship our church was having.

On Saturday, we took the kids to the zoo. They both did really well. Isaiah loved the splash-pad! This is definitely a praise because a couple months ago there was no way he was gonna play in shooting water that would get in his face. On Sunday, he was a distraction in his 3 year old classroom so he was put in the 2 year old room temporarily. He was being too loud and too active while the bible teacher was teaching the lesson to the kids. Also, a bummer šŸ˜¦ But, we had a fellowship at our house that afternoon and Isaiah did really well and would play wherever the other kids were playing. I would send him outside to play when the kids were on the playground and when they came inside to the playroom, I would send him in there to play too.

On Monday, Isaiah saw Beth, his ST. Beth is still getting to know Isaiah. But, we talked on the phone again that evening and I was able to give her some pointers on how to instruct Isaiah and what to expect from him. We decided to try doing ST with her twice a week.Ā Isaiah really thrives with direct and organized, instruction. Isaiah understands “no” and “stop” and “wait”. But, he does poorly with “ok sweetie, I need you to wait until I do such and such”, “please don’t take that out of my hand”, “you’re not allowed to do that. instead of doing that… how about doingĀ this”, “you did so good at building the legos”. Simple, straightforward, and direct commands is the best way to go. “No touch”, “no mouth”, “wait”, “Yes, we will obey”, “no jumping”, “no screaming” “good job” “yayyy” “high five”. Trust me, you are not being too harsh. Just use a soft tone but a high volume voice and he will know that you mean business. And when he protests, well that just means that he understands your command and doesn’t like it. But he still needs to obey, whether he likes it or not because he is not in control. One of the biggest advantage that Isaiah has is that he will obey me. And if he will obey me, he must obey teachers and therapists. I also believe that obeying authority is how we are to biblically train our children. We are just working on the obeying JOYFULLY part. šŸ˜‰ But, a lack of joy is because of a sinful heart, and heart training takes time.

In other news… Isaiah was evaluated for Occupational Therapy this morning. Why didn’t I do this earlier? I’m hoping he can get OT twice a week or maybe once a week for 60 minutes. The OT evaluator recommend I read a book called “The Out-of-Sync Child” andĀ another one that has practical activities called “The Out-of-Sync Child HasĀ Fun”. I already ordered both.

I’m hoping he has a good day at school! He cried hard today when I brought him to school tardy today. We have ST with Tahnee today. He did great with her last Tuesday. I even have videos of their session that I will post if I can figure out how. Tonight, I go to an info session with Isaiah’s teacher to learn about what they are doing in the classroom.

Thanks for reading and praying for Isaiah. I’m truly humbled by how you care.

3 thoughts on “Occupational Therapy

  1. Don’t be discouraged! There’s always going to be a transition period (short or long) when something new starts, and even if Isaiah’s been doing something for a while, he may still have some bad days. Praying he has a good week ahead!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment